• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Alcoholism

Started by bonejoyII, December 29, 2004, 05:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

agogobil

Quote from: messerschmitt on June 02, 2006, 07:54 AM
...  a smart guy like me is not a wino prototype (I have a bachelor's degree in Economics and have a job with great income besides drumming). All of that cannot deny the fact that, just like you did, whenever I start drinking with the boyz from the band, I can't seem to stop, until I'm wasted. That's because I don't feel the pain while drinking, but only the following day/s, when I (again and again) swear to myself I will not do that again.
Recently I decided I will not drink alcohol AT ALL, except on gigs, which is like 3-4 times a month. In the meantime I started taking some pills which are supposed to help the liver work and @$%#...
Reading all this made me realize there are a bunch of ppl in this position.. I have a 1.5 year old daughter and I want her to grow up happily and have a living father in the meantime. :-) I have to find a way to quit altogether!

There are a lot of hints in the many posts above.  You can join a lot of other people with bachelor's degrees in economics and many other fields such as nuclear science and sanitation maintenence that were walking the same path and found a way out.  You don't HAVE to drink (alcohol anyway) with the boyz in the band.  You DO have a choice.

You can easily find a "bunch of ppl in this position"  http://www.alcoholics-anonymous.org/en_find_meeting.cfm]here .

Not sure?   http://www.alcoholics-anonymous.org/en_is_aa_for_you.cfm]Check it out .  Be HONEST.

Feel free to PM or email me (or anyone else that's chimed in here) if you want.

Rylie

I'm one of the lucky ones, I guess. My father was a daily drunk (quart of liquor per day) until age 65-ish. He went out to the woods alone and stayed until the shaking stopped, and never drank again.