• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Re-affirmation why not to drink alcohol and play a gig

Started by sjm1112, March 03, 2007, 01:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

felix

I drank like three or 4 jello shots last weekend during the job.  They were free.  I party when I play cause that's what the groupies want and a few drinks is ok in my book.

Sorry, but I'm not going to push booze being in a bar band and not embibe myself.

I can't drink beer tho' unless it's a hot one anymore.  There is nothing worse than that "gotta go" feeling.  I usually drink water and someone buys me booze, shots usually.  I never buy my own booze, but I do buy drinks for other people (good politics).

Once in awhile I get totally smashed and regret it (or sometimes not) and sometimes I play stone cold sober (usually regret doing this  ;D).  We have a following and they sometimes drag me into the partying scene.  I'm a rock n roll drummer for 30 years; I like to party man, C'mon!

I'm not worried about the playback cause sometimes mistakes can sound really cool and as for live work- well If one is with a band long enough; hell, the mistakes are funniest parts of the job.  C'mon!  LOL!  I mean if you are worried about making a mistake how the heck can you play anything? 

RhythmStop

Sometimes I drink, sometimes I don't.  Right now though, I am.

David Newman

I had an every fri and sat jazz trio thing going for awhile at a club with really young party-animal owners. Every night they would ritualistically call us into the back for a round of those vodka-redbull nightmares, and I think the slowest ballad we ever played still clocked in at about quarter = 120  ;D

I no longer drink really but as long as the people I'm playing with aren't losing control of their ability to be musical I like to see everyone have a good time - regardless of how they achieve it.

Nick