• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

patent experience

Started by -chris, August 26, 2008, 08:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

-chris

Does any one have any experience with patenting an idea? I've been searching through http://www.freepatentsonline.com/ and US Patents online but it is like looking for a piece of hay in a pile of needles. A Patent attorney could be pricey especially in the NY area.
I took 3 manufactured pieces of equipment and made one original piece of equipment out of them. I searched all the manufactures and there is nothing like this out there.

Has anyone ever patent their original idea, if so, can you provide any direction?

Mark Pedersen

Hey - I got divorced through here and saved a bundle of money.
Give it a try:  http://www.legalzoom.com/provisional-patents/provisional-patents-overview.html]http://www.legalzoom.com/provisional-patents/provisional-patents-overview.html  

Patrick Quigley

I'm a recently graduated mechanical engineer and have dealt with patents quite a bit.  Google patents is a really good patent search on the free level. patents.google.com

Two problems: 1. doing the search yourself to make sure you're not infringing on anyone else is very very difficult. The lawyers that will do this for you... quite expensive. If you try to do it yourself, you'll miss something I guarantee it. 2. filing the paperwork is no cheap task either.

It boils down to whether or not you're willing to spend a LOT of money in what you're doing.  Any specific questions?

Bart Elliott

While LegalZoom may have its uses, I would never recommend it for patents. I have a good friend who is a Copyright Lawyer, and he tells me that he gets calls constantly from people who tried LegalZoom. They basically want him to fix all their filing problems ... for free of course.

You get what you pay for.

Mark Pedersen

Quote from: Bart Elliott on August 28, 2008, 02:12 PM