• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

NYF Injury update

Started by NY Frank, November 07, 2008, 09:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

NY Frank

I thought I'd post an injury update, for the few of you who might remember me.  :)

I still have the screws in my ankle.  I have been though multiple waves now of expectation setting by different doctors, all to change when discussion of
the second procedure came up.  I now finally have a date for screw removal - Dec 4.  Much, much later than originally expected, but, I'm glad it's at least on the books.

But - I'm walking again.  A few weeks ago, the surgeon released me to try to walk, and I graduated through - a few steps to - more steps with a cane - to - no cane.  I now walk with a limp, and I can't exactly go super far, but, I'm walking.   

At the last appointment with the surgeon, he released me to walk - without the plastic boot I had to wear.  [which I hate]  As long as I wear regular boots that go above my ankles.  Those boots were ordered, and today they should arrive.  I will then take my first steps with normal shoes/boots.  At that point, I really should be able to sit down at the kit for a light try.

[Bridge to a recent thread: since my right ankle will be weak for months and years to come, it should be easy for me now to get comfortable with *not* playing all 4's when playing jazz.  :)  ]

Jon E

Here are some nice boots.  :^D

HBolte

Patrick Quigley

I wish you the best in your recovery.  You're in my prayers.

NY Frank

NY Frank

The Eagle Has Landed.

I just got off the kit!  I was able to play - with no pain.

I only played 2 tunes.  I figured I should test it before doing something
stoopid and playing for hours.

Armed with the new boots, and armed with a massively loosened BD pedal,
I was able to play the tunes very comfortably.

I suck more than ever, but I don't care.  I can play, and it feels great.

[No laughing, but, it actually choked me up by the end of the second tune.