• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Paiste Chat

Started by Steve "Smitty" Smith, January 15, 2010, 01:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steve "Smitty" Smith

Paiste lovers: Weigh in on recent acquistions, wish list, or anything else.

Paiste non-lovers or detractors: Tell us why you don't care for Paiste.

lopan

Not quite a year ago, I got a set of 15" Giant Beat hats. For years I had used a set of 15" Zildjian New Beats and I never thought I'd find a set I liked more, but I think the Paiste hats have more of the qualities I'm looking for these days.

Steve "Smitty" Smith

Cool!  Giant Beat is one of the few Paiste lines I do not own.  Have you tried the Twenty series?  People are raving about them-- especially the hats.

I'm partial to to Signatures and 2002s.  The Signature crashes in particular are outstanding in my opinion.

I worked as a warehouse grunt at the Paiste America headquarters in Brea, California back in 1990-91.  I was like a kid in a candy store. I was the only drummer on the small warehouse crew.  The two other guys did not share my enthusiasm for cymbals, which may well have been tires for all they cared.  Good guys, though!

Susan Wood

I have a Paiste  17 inch thin crash which I like but may sell to buy an Instanbul Agop crash or a Sabian Artisan crash.
I like the Paiste crash when I just tap it as opposed to crashing it, as the sustain is too long; a really good cymbal though.

lopan

Quote from: Smitty on January 15, 2010, 01:45 PM
Cool!  Giant Beat is one of the few Paiste lines I do not own.  Have you tried the Twenty series?  People are raving about them-- especially the hats.

I'm partial to to Signatures and 2002s.  The Signature crashes in particular are outstanding in my opinion.