• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Regaining long-lost self confidence on drums

Started by Matthew Warwick, January 27, 2012, 01:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matthew Warwick

Hello, all. I'm "new" to the forum. The reason that is in quotation marks is that I was actually a member many years ago, but I didn't log in for a long time and my account was taken down because of that.

My username was xdrummer2000 (just to help long time members on here to remember who I am). I came on this forum at 15 years old thinking that I was a much better drummer than I actually was. However, this time around the story with me is much, much different. Basically, I need help regaining my confidence. I'll post the reasons below why I lost my confidence and how it all started. It's kind of a long read, but each detail is important.

I'll start off a bit describing my overall drumming experience and then I'll skip straight to the start of my problem. I started taking lessons in November 2001. I definitely wasn't what you would call naturally talented, but I was very passionate. I went through a period of arrogance in about 2004-2005 which sometimes resurfaced briefly for the next couple of years (unfortunately this arrogance reared its ugly head when I first became a member on this forum the first time around). It wasn't until 2006-2007 that I had a healthy level of confidence without much arrogance (except at certain times).

Now comes the problem. Starting in 2007 (the year I graduated high school), whenever I had a recording of myself playing that I could listen to at my leisure, I would take a metronome and try to gauge how good my tempo was. I would find that mostly my tempo was fine. Of course I wavered somewhat, but I'm definitely not what you'd call "great" or anything, so that is to be expected. But I felt such a strong need to have that "perfect" tempo.