• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Building a solid wood cajon

Started by Matthew Warwick, August 07, 2013, 09:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matthew Warwick

Since I'm a drummer who enjoys woodworking, a project I've gotten interested in lately is building a cajon. Most of them are built from plywood, but I'd like to use solid wood, as I've seen some people do. I found a site of a company that builds custom cajons out of many kinds of solid woods, domestic and exotic. Here's a link:

http://customcajondrums.com/]http://customcajondrums.com/

I'm really inspired by their design with the contrasting blocks of wood at the corners. It gives more wood surface on which to round over the corners without exposing the end grain of the panels. I think I'm going to use Honduras Rosewood for the main wood, and probably curly maple as the contrasting wood. Here's the thing though: when you use solid wood panels, attaching a piece of wood at the ends with the grain going perpendicular to the panel restricts the panel from seasonal expansion and contraction across the grain and can cause the panel to crack. I was thinking of just doing veneers on plywood, but I want my cajon to be unique both in looks and sound and I think the tone of the rosewood (definitely richer sounding than plywood) will contribute to that. I was told by a guy I spoke with on the phone from Meinl the other day that a thin veneer likely won't have any impact on the sound of the cajon.