• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Need some help--urgent

Started by Jason00, December 31, 2001, 05:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jason00

Hey Bartman-

Found a link to your great site at "Expert Forums" and thought I would also try posting my question here.

I need some help--I screwed up my wrist bowling last week. I was only able to play for about a half an hour at a time over the weekend before it started to get uncomfortable. I didn't want to push it because I have to play tonight.

I was wondering if anyone could suggest a quick fix to get me through the evening--heat/cold, wrapping, stretching, over-the-counter drugs--something of that order. I'm sure rest and recuperation time would be the best, but that really isn't an option.

Thanks,
JB

James Walker

Jason,

I'm not a doctor, not a therapist, not a chiropractor - in other words, I have no background in the field, so please don't consider this "medical advice." ÊAll I'll offer is my perspective as a player/teacher:

1) ÊThe idea of looking for a "quick fix" for an injured wrist (and yes, I understand and sympathize with your situation, facing a gig this evening) scares the living hell out of me as a player. ÊI'd be leery of running to meds as a solution - you may end up only treating the symptom (pain/discomfort), while not only not solving the original problem, but causing other problems as a result. Ê(Pain is the body's way of telling you that something's not right - and if you only eliminate the sensation of pain, you could be doing something horrible to your wrist without realizing it.)

2) ÊIf you're in a colder climate tonite, let your hands warm up after getting inside, before you start doing any playing - don't necessarily apply heat to the wrist, just let them get to room temperature. Ê("And wear your gloves! ÊAnd a nice warm hat!" - to quote moms everywhere.)