• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Drumming+Career+Family?

Started by TamaDrummer, September 27, 2007, 09:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TamaDrummer

First off- WOW!!! It has been a LONG time since I visited the Cafe (sorry Bart!), and I have to say DANG does this place look good! The Cafe has been such an AMAZING asset to me in past years, and I'm glad to be back here again!

Anyways, I have a question:
For those of you who manage your career, family and musical pursuits...
How do you do it?

I am 19 years old, have a child due in April, have no idea what I want for a career (was to be Music Educator), and I am a drummer. Perhaps it is the voice of inexperience speaking, but it doesn't seem there is enough time to be a dedicated worker, father, husband and band member in one's life.
So I was just looking to our experienced members on how you fit it all in. How is it possible to be all of those things?

Thanks a lot all! Glad to be around the Cafe again!

Todd Norris

Hey TamaDrummer, welcome back!  And congrats on the baby!

I wish I had a good quick solution for you, but in my case, I just had to prioritize everything.  The family (and thus the job) had to come first.  Then music.  I've been fortunate, that I've managed to keep music pretty active after my kids came along.  Sometimes the music gets put aside for a family matter, and sometimes the family can "survive" without me so that I can do something music related.  My wife is very understanding and that helps make it work.  Without her support, I'd never be able to do anything drumming related.