• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Giving Lessons - where to start?

Started by bangdums, May 29, 2002, 09:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bangdums

A family at my church asked if I would give lessons on drum set to their 14 year old son. He is a beginning drummer who has been playing for about a year. He has been taking lesson from a student in the music college at the state university here in town and he says that she is a little too academic in her approach. He just wants to "learn to play different beats" have fun.

I've been playing drums as a hobby for about 14 years and have never taken or given private lessons. Could you suggest a general progression of skills, etc. to teach and maybe recommend some specific excercises or books that would be helpful? There is so much on the web but its difficult to sift through it all. Thanks for you help in advance and thanks for your site. It's one of the better ones I've come accross.

Bart Elliott

Well ... even though the student feels the lessons from the prior instructor are too academic, it's probably what the student really needs! Most young players want to skip the basics and move right into the "kewl" stuff.

On the other side of the coin, if you don't get the student excited about drumming and not looking forward to learning more ... then they just won't take lessons.

So the key is to find a happy balance. I try to not go overboard with learning from books. If that's all there is to teaching, then anyone can buy a book and learn without an instructor. Many teachers just work out of the book(s) and never really get personal with the student; it becomes a cookie-cutter method of teaching. Also it's not good to just wing-it and have no goals or direction in the instruction.

With that said, I would recommend getting the student involved with play-along materials immediately. Getting them playing some basic grooves will give you access to working on rudiments, sticking exercises, etc.