Drum News
Drummer Cafe 20th Anniversary
  • Subscribe
Pin it
Hit Like A Girl

Champions and other winners to be announced May 7 on DrumChannel.com.

Hit Like A Girl is proud to announce that more than 40 of the world’s best drummers have been selected as finalists in the 2015 edition of the international drumming contest for girls and women. Contest participants included girls as young as 6 and women in their 50’s and represented nearly 50 different countries, from North and South America to Asia, Europe and Africa. The HLAG Finalists were chosen by popular vote, professional drummers and drum industry executives.

The 2015 Hit Like A Girl Contest Finalists are:

Under 18 Age Division

AJDrmz (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/ajdrumz-2015

Anna K (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/anna-k-2015

Antonia (Germany) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/antonia-2015

Avelyn C (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/avelyn-c-barefoot-drummer-2015

Becca Webster (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/becca-webster-2015

Daga (Poland) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/daga-2015

Daniella Dziamba (Canada) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/daniella-dziamba-2015

Elise (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/elise-2015

FaithNDrums (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/faithndrums-2015

Isis Dunthorne (Ireland) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/isis-dunthorne-2015

Jennie Seaborn (Canada) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/jennie-seaborn-2015

Kalonica Nicx (Indonesia) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/kalonica-nicx-2015

Kasey Rox (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/kasey-rox-2015

Madison Mesec (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/madison-mesec-2015

Manu Fukuada (Japan) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/mana-fukuda-2015

Maren Alfrod (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/maren-alford-2015

Milana (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/milana-2015

Mira Burgers (Netherlands) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/mira-burgers-2015

Nat Drum-her (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/nat-drum-her-2015

Natalia (Poland) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/natalia-2015

Nur Amira Syahira (Malaysia) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/nur-amira-syahira-2015

Payton Taylor (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/payton-taylor-2015

Sophie Drummer (Ireland) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/under-18/entry/sophie-drummer-2015   

Over 18 Age Division

Aaliyah Jay (UK) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/aaliyah-jay-2015

Alex Monsa (Columbia) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/alex-monsa-2015

Arianna Fannning (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/arianna-fanning-2015

Asli Polat (Turkey) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/aslpolat-2015

Bianca Richardson (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/brichdrumz-2015

Brooke Custerson (Australia) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/brooke-custerson-2015

Daiana Azar (Argentina) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/daianaazar-2015

Dortup Drumz (Nigeria) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/dotrup-drumz-2015

Emily Roane (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/emilyroane-2015

Issy L. Phoenix (Germany) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/issy-l-phoenix-2015

Jas Kayser (UK) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/jas-kayser-2015

Jessica Anderson (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/jessica-anderson-2015

Keylee Preston (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/kayleepreston-2015

Lenka Dundrova (Czech Republic) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/lenka-dundrova-2015

Lindsay Artkop (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/lindsay-artkop-2015

Lindsay Martin (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/lindsay-martin-2015

Marlene Grafais (Puerto Rico) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/marlene-grafals-2015

Mel Wu (Australia) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/mel-wu-2015

Muny (Venezuela) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/muny-2015

Rikki Woods (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/rikki-woods-2015

TAN (USA) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/tan-2015

Vicky "Buttfairy" Reader (UK) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/vick-2015

Vivi (Hungary) www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com/18-plus/entry/vivi-2015

Following the final round of judging, the Champion and 2 runners-up in both the over and under 18 age divisions will be announced on the 2015 Hit Like A Girl Awards Show. The show will be webcast live on May 7, 2015 at 4:00 PM PDT on DrumChannel.com and will be co-hosted by Jess Bowen (The Summer Set), Mindy Abovitz (Tom Tom) and Phil Hood (DRUM!). The show will also feature appearances and performances by Didi Negron (2015 HLAG Spokesperson and Cirque du Soleil Amaluna), YouTube sensation Anike Nilles, Russian all-female drum line Loud Street Girls, 2014 HLAG Champions Riesha Fayson and Kanade Sato along with many other special guests and surprises.

Sponsors of the 2015 Hit Like A Girl Contest include Mapex. DW, Zildjian, Evans, Innovative, Alfred Music, Mapex, Musician’s Institute, NFUZD, Promark, Puresound, Sabian, SKB, TRX, Yamaha DTX, Vater, Vic Firth, Audix, Gibraltar, KAT, LP, PDP, Puresound and Cympad.

Media sponsors include the Percussive Arts Society, Drum Channel, Hudson Music, Drum Guru, Alternative Press, DRUM!, Tom Tom, Drumhead, the Enter Music Network, Online Drummer, Music Radar/Rhythm (UK), Drums & Percussion (Germany), Wikidrummer (France) and DrumScene (Australia).

Joining 2015 event spokesperson Didi Negron (Cirque du Soleil) as celebrity judges are Hannah Ford-Welton (Prince), Venzella Joy (Beyoncé), Kim Thompson (Late Night), Debbie Knox-Hewson (Charli XCX), Emily Dolan-Davies (The Darkness), Kate Schellenbach (Luscious Jackson), Jess Bowen (The Summer Set), Alicia Warrington (Kate Nash), Cherisse Ofusu-Osei (Bryan Ferry), Bobbye Hall (independent), Senri Kawaguchi (independent), Kiran Ghandi (M.I.A.), Mona Tavakoli (Jason Mraz), Nia Lovelis (Cherri Bomb) and Alexey Poblete. The judging panel also includes Meytal Cohen, Anika Nilles and Lux Drummerette as well as 2014 HLAG Champions Riesha Fayson and Kanade Sato.

International Ambassadors

HLAG Ambassadors represent nearly 2 dozen countries around the world including, Canada, Chile, Argentina, The Netherlands, Japan, England, Thailand, Philippines, Slovakia, Australia, Israel, Venezuela, Peru, Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Solvakia, South Africa, Germany, Brazil, Mexico and Hungary. The Ambassadors are responsible for expanding the awareness of drumming and increasing participation in the contest by organizing promotional activities in their native languages through their local and social media contacts.

For the latest information about the Hit Like A Girl Contest, visit the Hit Like A Girl Contest website at www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com.