Drummer Cafe Forum

LOUNGE => Shameless Self-Promotion => Topic started by: Jeff Lewallen on September 16, 2011, 08:26 PM

Title: First Live gig using my Roland Set
Post by: Jeff Lewallen on September 16, 2011, 08:26 PM
I have had my Roland set for quite a while and have only used it for practice and rehearsal in the past but was asked to do an acoustic gig recently and I thought I would try out the Roland's for that since it was a small space and I knew I could be in command with a volume knob....here is a video of one of the songs from that day...

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-UUCdtQnxOY#]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-UUCdtQnxOY#
Title: Re: First Live gig using my Roland Set
Post by: Rusty Beckett on September 17, 2011, 09:32 AM
That sounded good.  What were you using for speakers and amp, the PA? 

I have a Yamaha DTXpress III, which got used once at the request of the band I was backing.  I was run through their PA and the sound was not pleasing to me.  the cymbals didn't have any sustain and the bass drum was a lifeless thud no matter what settings I tried.  I figured it was the sound system since it usually sounds OK through headphones.
Title: Re: First Live gig using my Roland Set
Post by: Jeff Lewallen on September 17, 2011, 12:00 PM
Thanks Rusty! I had the Roland set plugged directly into a channel on the PA which is a small Yamaha Stage Pass 500 (a great little PA in my opinion). My kit has the Roland TD-6V module and came with 99 pre-programmed kits. I took one of them and made a custom kit and tweaked a few things to get it exactly like I wanted it. One thing I did notice from this recording was that I had the Rim click on the snare programmed a little too hot so I will have to dial that back a little bit....
I actually never planned on using them to gig with but after trying it out, I think for smaller locations and acoustic type gigs I will definitely use the set again...