• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Little sister wants to be a drummer

Started by thadvde, January 25, 2006, 02:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

thadvde

Hello to all the drummers out there.

I have a few questions about drums for you guys. I play guitar and harmonica, I've got no experience with drums at all. I rarely even work with drummers.
  Anyway, I've got a little sister(14) that I've been trying to get into music for a while. She came to me a couple weeks ago out of the blue and asked if I could help her get into drumming. So I bought her a practice pad, some sticks and a metronome; and let her go at it. I don't want to push her into something she'll hate.
  Anyway, now here we are a few weeks later and she's learned a couple basic things off the internet. She can play a rock beat, a swing beat, and something that sounds like bossa nova. The pad wasn't enough so she's got some a mustard lid, mayo lid, and coffee can.
  I want to get her a decent starting kit, it seems like she might make a go of this and I don't want to have to buy another set in a few months. My goal is to get something that won't clear my checking account, and something that she can gig with if she ever has the need. I also need to know what I'm going to have to get along with the kit. The guy at the music store said to check out the Pearl Soundcheck.
Any and all advice is appreciated.

Shane Stylianos

With it sounding like she might keep a go at this, I would think along the lines of a Pacific MX, Yamaha Rydeen or Stage Custom, Tama Swingstar, etc.  All between 600 & 800 dollars.  Then pick up a half-way decent cymbal pack (300-800).  Any one of those would hold her over for at least a couple years, until she could start spending her own money to start switching things out to what she wants.  Plus, on a better kit, you get a higher resale value, either for trade in, or outright selling if she really doesn't stay interested.  Definitely check ebay for any good deals.