• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

New to drumming/music in general

Started by Eric, April 28, 2006, 10:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Eric

Hey guys. I didn't see a "new members" thread, so I hope I'm not breaking any rules  :).

I've been interesting in drumming for about two/three years now (I'm 18), and I started taking lessons last year. Recently I bought three Tama drums from a local drummer (Rockstar Custom) - 10" rack tom, 14" floor tom, and 20" bass drum for about $150. This was a big step for me, since there's no space to play in my house and getting a drumset had proven to be nearly impossible before. Luckily I managed to convince my parents that three drums weren't going to take up much space by themselves.

Anyway, I wanted to know what suggestions you guys had for a new player (other than taking lessons, which I'm going to be starting up again soon). I need a snare, cymbals, and hardware (looking at the Paiste PST5 cymbal pack, the other two things I'm not sure about). I wanted a double kick pedal, since I'd be getting one eventually and don't see the need in buying a single pedal, but I'm not sure what kind to get. Any advice is appreciated.

I look forward to talking with you guys.  :)

johndurg

Hey Eric,

First of all, well done on your setup.  A 4piece (once you get a snare) rockstar custom will be a GREAT drumest to learn drums on.

It's too bad that kit didn't come with a snare drum.  I'll bet if you looked on ebay, you could find a rockstar custom snare, probably even in the same finish.  If you want something else, thats cool too.  I would recommend going USED.

Cymbals can cost alot of money.  Especially compared to a $150 drumset.  You might want to look in to Zildjian ZBT cymbals.  I taught drums at a sumemr camp, and we had those there.  They sound decent and cost less than $200 for a full set.  Check musiciansfriend.com and ebay.  A couple years down the line, you can upgrade to professional cymbals.