Topic: Ozzfest in Philly Today  (Read 2307 times)

forgetfuljonesdw

Ozzfest in Philly Today
« on: July 19, 2005, 04:08 PM »
Ok so Ozzfest is today in Philly, I won't be going, but thought it a good time to pay tribute to some of these Metal drummers.  Let's be serious, you can have chops and great technique, but these guys live the dream of most drummers! Most of them beat the @&$! out of their kits.  Ok so that can be said about most of these guys, but I want to turn you older rockers out there who still drool over Megadeth and Iron Maiden, to the new generation in Metal and Rock Drumming.  The Reverend (Yes, they call him the Reverend!) from a band called Avenged Sevenfold - this guy is incredible! Best footwork I have ever heard - and I've been drumming for 12 years.  Among their whole album "City of Evil", I'd like to turn you on to a song called The Beast and the Harlot (if that name is not metal, than I dont know what is).  He's got this sick fill about 2 and a half minutes through that just blows my mind! Another guy, Jason Bittner (I think its Bittner)  from a band called Shadows Fall has great feet and one of the most explosive styles I've ever heard.  It's true we must pay tribute to our heroes, but nobody on here ever talks about the new guys in town, namely those that can beat the crap out of their kits and take names!  Take a look at these guys, get past their look and appreciate the musicianship.  

www.avengedsevenfold.com

*take note - the author still believes Megadeth and Iron Maiden to be the best metal bands that have ever lived.

Offline Mark Schlipper

• Cafe VIP
  • drum + hand
    • chock full o' creamy goodness
Ozzfest in Philly Today
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2005, 05:51 PM »
As far as newer metal drummers go ...

Joey Jordison - Slipknot
Jessie Smith - Zao
Des Kensel - High On Fire
Dirk Verbeuren - The Aborted
Tomas Haake - Meshuggah