• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Session work ... setting prices

Started by Bart Elliott, May 25, 2005, 08:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bart Elliott

Here's a question that I received via email about a year ago, I thought I'd share.

Q: I need some advice. Several local bands in my area have started contacting me regarding session or as they call it studio work.  Considering I have never done this before I was a little skeptical. But every group that has called (3 total) have commented on my playing, saying they had been to my church and heard me play.

I'm a mom and I can't go all over the place to practice or to play.

I have told all three of them I would get back to them and they all are willing to wait. What questions do I ask. What can I ask to be paid to do this? Help!

A: That's a lot to try and answer ... especially since I don't know you nor the level of your playing. Regardless, you've got to determine what your time is worth. If you have to get a baby-sitter, then you need to factor that cost IN ADDITION to what your time is worth.

If you need the experience, then you probably should not set your fee too high. If you are in high demand, then you can raise your rates. If you are able to just walk in and nail the track in one or two takes, then you can probably ask for more money. If need time and/or don't have much experience, then you might want to come up with a fee based on the number of songs and not how long it will take you to accomplish the track. If it takes you two hours to lay down the drum track for one song, most people aren't going to want to pay you $50+ an hour for example.