• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Shipping a Drum Set

Started by jetter2, July 03, 2005, 12:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jetter2

Hey all I have a 5 peice kit with cymbals, stands, throne, pedals etc that I am needing to ship to Cali from here in dallas. The guy is bidding whatever it takes on this set on ebay, and right now its allready up to $510 with still 14hrs to go. In the past 6 hrs alone it has gone up $160!!!

What are some good companies to ship the kit through..and where in the hell do I get boxes big enough to hold the bass drum? Everything else Im sure wont be a problem but thats a hell of a box!

JeepnDrummer

UPS and FedEx will ship the drums.  Most mailing/packing stores can box them up and mail them for you.  The set I recently bought was shipped by FedEx, a company I much prefer over UPS, and arrived damage free.

You can save on shipping by removing the drum heads and nesting the shells, so long as you wrap them in bubble-wrap and then fill the rest in with popcorn.

jetter2

I too much prefer FedEx and DHL over UPS. So If I just take my drums up to the local UPS store, they can box them all up for me and stuff??

Should I take off the drumheads or what??

Joe

Quote from: jetter2 on July 03, 2005, 08:04 AM
Should I take off the drumheads or what??

The former.