• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

zildjian new beats... 35 bucks!

Started by maktub, August 31, 2006, 02:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

maktub

I'm pretty new to drumming. I've got a ludwig accent custom with some generic hi hats and a generic crash. I'm looking to upgrade just the hi hats (for now) to ether paiste pst 5 rock hats or Sabian b8 pro rock hats. I'm on kind of a small budget. What do you guys think?

I'm editing this. I no longer want B8 pros or PST5's. I'm looking into zildjian new beats. Maybe a ping ride, too. What are good hi hats for a funky, kind of groovy feel?

Dave Heim

Those are both value lines of cymbals, and they're good for beginners.  But not knowing what you're upgrading from, they may not be a really big improvement for you.  I'd look for some good quality used hats on e-bay.  You can usually find lots there.

maktub

Alright. What would you suggest? I don't think I need Zildjian K's or anything like that  ;).

Dave Heim

Quote from: maktub on August 31, 2006, 03:55 PM
Alright. What would you suggest? I don't think I need Zildjian K's or anything like that  ;).

Hard to say, cymbal sounds are pretty subjective.  A lot depends on what you're willing to pay.  You can usually find lots of Zildjian & Sabian cymbals on eBay.  Zildjian New Beat hi-hats are very versatile, very common, and can usually be found at reasonable prices there. 

You may want to hit (no pun intended) the cymbal makers' websites and check out their sound galleries where, although not a 100% true sound, you can get some sort of idea of how various cymbals sound when played. 

Sabian's site has a nice gallery, once you get the hang of navigating it.  Zildjian's site is chock full of "dancing baloney" when you first open it, but once you get past all that, the sounds can be accessed by drilling down to a particular cymbal.  For Paiste, click on the Cymbal Sound Room.