• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

I need some advice?

Started by Funkadrummer, November 04, 2006, 11:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Funkadrummer

I am currently in my fall semester at Columbia College Chicago. I am new to the city and love it, but my school im not so sure about. I am currently majoring in audio for visual media. Now I love my audio classes and any class that has to do with audio. But my academic classes are somewhat lacking, for the money I am paying I feel like I should be challanged more, now this may be the freshman classes and as I progress it could get harder but someone my general education classes its not all freshman. Basicly what I am asking is should I stay the whole year or leave at the end of my fall semester and find another school for next fall and in the spring go to a community college back in richmond va.

I dont know but this has been the hardest thing I have ever done. I was never the academic type of student in high school, but now that I am in college and paying for my education it jsut makes since for me to care. I barely graduated high school. My parents werent the type to force me to go to college and I decided all on my own, found the school, moved out her by myself, so I dont know what to do. I figured I would ask some guys who have already been through it.

Thanks for any help.

James Walker

If you're happy with the classes that deal with your major, stay at the school - don't change schools because you don't like the "gut" academic portion of your degree program.  Hang in there, and get through it as best you can.  Besides, while I don't know Richmond, VA, I do know that Chicago is a great city, especially where the performing arts are concerned, and I regret leaving the Chicago area when I finished school.