Topic: My Solo  (Read 1723 times)

Offline snaresoff

• Copper Member
My Solo
« on: October 13, 2008, 11:19 PM »
I have put together a short solo. I have been playing for just about two years. I don't get much time to practice about three hours of time on the set and a couple of hours on the pad a week. I have been trying to build a solo including some dynamic as well as time and groove,it has been quite challenging. It's not easy to discipline yourself not to blow all over the place when you sit down on the set,especially when the playing time is so restrictive.I don't know how to read music it has been difficult to learn rudiments and work out of books I am limited,I have started looking for a teacher,I feel out place starting at 38. Anyway I have great respect for Bart as well as the other members on this forum, I learn alot here at The Cafe. Any creative criticism that could help me balance out my playing or helpfull advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Crs http://www.zshare.net/audio/20509055c31f1ea1/                                 

Offline Chris Whitten

• Honorary VIP
Re: My Solo
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2008, 12:08 AM »
You have some good ideas there, although I didn't hear much in terms of dynamics.
Not bad though.  :)
Soloing is just about the hardest thing to pull off behind the kit. So I'm wondering why you are working so hard on a solo and not concentrating on the kind of things drummers do 95% of the time?

Offline eardrum

• Cafe VIP
  • It's not too late to get better!
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2008, 02:16 AM »
For playing a short time with no formal instruction i think you are doing pretty well.  I'm no teacher but I'd give you a B.   Criticism: It sounds like you are doodling.  Many of us do that, especially as you say, when we don't have a lot of time to take a disciplined approach.  I for one don't like solos that just demo what one can do.  I need to hear song - theme, beginning, middle, end...