• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

That Jazz snare "pop"

Started by Basher, February 16, 2002, 02:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Basher

Hello fellow drummers.. I'm a fairly novice drummer, I've been playing for a long time as a hobby, but I don't think I'm very good.. trying to learn more about the "art" of drumming now, instead of just banging on them.

Anyway, I have a question.  I love Jazz/funk grooves like Dennis Chambers, Carter Beauford, etc.  I was watching Chris Botti on satellite yesterday, his drummer, a female drummer, Karen Teperberg(who has a great style). has that distinct Jazz "pop".  I was wondering, to achieve this sound,  do they rim shot like 90% of the time??  I have a Pearl 13" Piccillo and a rim shot gives me that similar "pop".  

Well.. better practice, I have a LOT to learn, I'm just beginning to learn how to read sheet music.  Can you believe that.  Thanks!!

Bart Elliott

I think saying that a rimshot is played 90% of the time is an accurate assessment.

I would say that 90% of most commercial music incorporates rimshots for the back-beat. Doing so really drives the music as well as establishing a consistent sound.

I personally use a rimshot for most back-beat types of music; the exception being ballads ... but even this depends on the type of snare I'm using.

Basher

One thing I find more difficult is controlling the dynamics of a rim shot.. but I've see great drummers contol it very well.

I saw the Tony Royster, Jr. video with Dennis Chambers and that kid can play.. he has the dynamics down very well...  must be nice :)

Bart Elliott

If you are talking about dynamics using the rimshot ... there is a very narrow range ... it's meant to be loud.