• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Recording module question

Started by Matthew Warwick, April 07, 2012, 02:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matthew Warwick

For the past couple of days I've been recording some drum tracks to click at my church. Some sounded good, some okay, some not so good. I've been practicing to click on my practice pad off and on for a few months, but I've found it's quite a bit different from playing to it on the drumset itself.

I've decided to try and invest in a pair of overhead mics, a recording module, and recording software. I have some specifications, though, and I was wondering what I should look for if I want these things.

For one, I want the ability to plug the overhead microphones as well as my metronome into the module and then be able to hear both of them through headphones while I play (as well as record what I'm hearing so I can hear it back).

Also, does the recording module have to have EQ bands on it if I want to EQ my recordings, or do I just need to get recording software with EQ to do that? EQing is something I enjoy, so it'd be cool to be able to do that.

Obviously, I'll need some cables too. Besides the 2 or 3 XLR cables for the mics, what else will I need, particularly for connecting my metronome (it's a Dr. Beat digital metronome) to the module so I can play it through my headphones and record it?

I know a fair amount about microphones, but I'd like to know what I need in the rest of the equipment and what features to look for. I'm just going to get two overheads, and I already have a good enough bass drum mic in case that doesn't come through clearly enough. Of course, I'd like to have a few channels on it so that when I get more mics in the future, I can potentially mic the snare and maybe other individual drums.

Bart Elliott

We've actually talked a lot about this type of thing before, so I would definitely do some searching on the forum for past responses.