Topic: cheapo electronic kit  (Read 1258 times)

ERIC I

cheapo electronic kit
« on: January 29, 2003, 09:47 PM »
hey everybody.  I was thinking about making an electronic kit out of my old pearl exports by replacing the batters with mesh heads, putting ddrum triggers on them, and putting them through an alesis DM5.  I have no experience with any of this so im wondering what your opinions would be on this setup.  Would this be a good alternative to buying a full fledged electonic kit?  Will the triggers be somewhat accurate?  Thanks for all your input.

Offline Tony

• Cafe VIP
  • Art is the expression of the self.
Re:cheapo electronic kit
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2003, 08:35 AM »
A good idea in theory, but you' can't just stick some triggers on a mesh head.  You'll have to build some kind of shock mount housing to protect them.  Also, drumhead mounted triggers work because of the head vibrations caused by the air flow through the drums.  You lose this with a mesh head.  But I think your on the right track.
The techniques, though they play an important role in the early stage, should not be too restrictive, complex or mechanical. If we cling to them, we will become bound by their limitation.  Any technique, however worthy and desirable, becomes a disease when the mind is obsessed with it.

Offline Big Yummy

• Cafe VIP
  • I am evil Homer, I am evil Homer!
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2003, 09:35 AM »
I know someone who did this, and they weren't happy with the Alesis brain at all.  They traded it in for the entry level Roland brain and then used it for years when playing live.

People would often compliment him on his drum sound and then be incredulous when he told them everything but the snare and cymbals was electronic.  (These days, the better electronic snares are perfectly good for live work, too.)

He was playing straight ahead Rock music, so having the look of the acoustic kit was important.