Topic: Thin Lizzy snare drum sound  (Read 2389 times)

Offline Jerome West

• Copper Member
  • I'm new to the Drummer Cafe!
Thin Lizzy snare drum sound
« on: June 25, 2013, 12:16 PM »
  I would like to have that Thin Lizzy snare drum sound. Does anyone know what snare Brian Downey played or how I can duplicate that sound?

donelk

Re: Thin Lizzy snare drum sound
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2013, 12:53 PM »
Maybe a Ludwig Supra or metal Rogers Powertone?

Offline Joe

• Cafe VIP
  • Seeburg traps
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2013, 06:11 PM »
To supplement any subsequent, comprehensive replies from those who were there or nearby....

Assuming a constant of the snare used on the Jailbreak album, that's one of those sounds that's more reliant on how the drum is dampened, firstly, and then where the drum is struck...and even how it's mic'ed and compressed, if at all.

If someone said, "Joe, gimme that sound acoustically with what you have", I would take my Supra 400, make sure it has a medium tension on both heads with tightish snares, and then gaffer a wad of tissue on the side on the rim. that being done, i would consistently strike the drum halfway between the center of the head and the rim, off that area of head covered underneath by the snares, though this might vary as the wind. I don't think I would hit the rim, and the butt end of the stick would be used.

I saw in an interview where he played Hayman and Gretsch, mostly...this doesn't help much.

EDIT: Now, let's examine the facts:

]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oMFYs3gfgis#

The Hayman kicks are visible. The snare is definitely a 5-ish and metal. He's using the tip of the stick, whether or not he is rimshotting is anyone's guess, but he's certainly letting the stick fly up. The snare is higher than I remembered.