Topic: shell depth  (Read 2210 times)

Offline Joe Binns

• Copper Member
  • I'm new to the Drummer Cafe!
shell depth
« on: September 29, 2016, 02:08 PM »
Do toms of different depths have essentially the same range or do deeper toms allow for deeper tones? 

Offline Anthony Sullivan

• Copper Member
Re: shell depth
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2017, 11:53 AM »
Hi Joe,

I'm sure you've found your answer by now, but just wanted to weigh in as this was something I debate when buying a Tama Hyperdrive kit... I found that the depth effects the length of the note more than the pitch. I can get the toms sounding quite low, but still retaining a really punchy sound.

Hope that helps!

Offline Chip Donaho

• Cafe VIP
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2017, 01:31 PM »
I have 4 different drum sets. Each has it's own sound. My Mapex sets sound completely different than my DW set. When choosing my drums for different bands I have to be very carefull which set I bring to the gig. For instance, if they play a lot of old rock I bring my old Slingerland set. But if I'm going to be recording I'll bring my DW set. But if I want a deep sound I'll choose my Cherrywood Mapex set. I also have various snares to chose from. I'm very choosy which snares I bring to a gig. So it pays to know the sound you're after.  ;)
Craviotto-DW-Mapex-Slingerland
Paiste-Zildjian
"When you quit learning you start dying."-My Grandfather

Offline Bob Dias

• Cafe VIP
  • mmmmm...staves
    • Ugly Rumor
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2018, 11:29 AM »
So many variables, but essentially what Anthony said. B.
"It's O.K. if you only know three chords, but for God's sake, play'em in the right order" (H. Hill)

Offline Bart Elliott

• Chef de Cuisine
  • Founder & owner of DrummerCafe.com
    • bartelliott
    • bartelliott
    • w w w . B a r t E l l i o t t . c o m
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2018, 01:37 PM »