• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Progressive Rock

Started by Bart Elliott, March 12, 2002, 09:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bart Elliott

I mentioned that I considered Rush (ie. Neal Peart) to be part of the founding sound of what I call Progressive Rock. Some have strongly disagreed with my assessment.

What is your definition of Progressive Rock? Site some bands or musicians who you feel paved the way for this genre.

clearseawater

I cant say I can define it but I feel it goes back futher to the 60's(im no expert on prog atall though).

"Soft Machine", "Gentle giant" and definatly "Focus" were SOME of the first links in the evolutionary chain to this mold breaking style.

My take on this style is like many styles that seem to push through their particular catergorays (fusion for example) into new territorys (a branch from the main trunk...A hybrid of the core influence).

Prog Rock to me (in my opinion) has at its core Rock but has classical/Funk twists to its branches.

There of coarse can be many crossovers so maybe my definition isnt great.

felix

I have a wonderful little rock ditty that we just finished mixing that I'm going to share with you all tomorrow "since I'm such a nice guy".

You know I think I've heard most of the earlier prog rocking bands but I really don't know who "started it" and I'm not sure what prog rock is and where the line between rock and "prog rock" is.  Does it have to have a measure of odd time to be prog rock?  Is swinging not allowed in prog rock?  I wish someone would tell me.

rudibass2

Tull
 Zappa
 Genisus
  ELP   -      Carl Palmer 8)   now he can "PLAY"

I'm not sure what the exact qualifications for it would be . For me , it's stuff that you have to know note for note in order to play it . Face it , 90% of rock and roll can be played in one take without ever having heard the song before hand , for drummers at least .