• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Practicing

Started by mkdrum, March 20, 2004, 02:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matt

Sorry this will be a little long, but I want to explain my situation well enough where it can be understood.

I have been a drummer for a little over 10 years and have studied with several instructors. While taking lessons, I found it hard to discipline myself and concentrate on the "homework" my instructors assigned. I grew frustrated as time went on, making up excuses as to why I didnt complete my given assignments.
After about a year and a half my first instructor told me that I should stop studying with him because I wasnt up to the level that he thought I should be at. Disappointed and confused about my drumming future, I continued going through my lesson book from that instructor, trying to teach myself what we hadnt worked on yet.

I studied with two more instructors after that, in two different states. The first was a "name" player, who by chance, lived about two miles from the apartment I had moved to in the Nashville area. He was a patient, understanding person who happily answered my questions and helped me feel more confident as a drummer. He also made me feel that he was my friend and not just someone being paid for providing a service. Due to some money trouble on my part I had to leave Nashville and return home to Massachusetts.

After getting married, my wife and I moved into a house in her home state where she was attending school at the time. I looked for a new teacher and found one. He was a decent player and showed me some things, but would spend most of my lesson time playing my kit, because he lived in an apartment and couldnt set up his own.