Topic: restoring old drums...someone help me!  (Read 3184 times)

toddnuss

restoring old drums...someone help me!
« on: August 02, 2002, 08:50 PM »
I'm a 17 year old guitarist/singer/ mandelinist/ harmonica-ist/ and soon to be-drummist from Kansas, we just fired our drummer and I'm restoring my dad's old kit so I can come up with beats by myself and communicate better with future drummers- plus have a nice set to have over at my place to for the band's convenience.  It's a 5 pc. pearl set that must be at least 30 years old.  I cleaned it up, and it is BEAUTIFUL-honestly, no scratches dents or anything.  I bought Evans drum-heads and it sounds alot  better than it did.  (*note- trying to make the set as close to professional as possible)
   But now I have a problem... I don't know what to do next.  I don't know what cymbols, parts, etc. to buy.  I have fixed a small buzzing resonence in the snare, but beyond that I really have no clue on how things should sound.
-How do I fix the ring in a 16 inch floor tom?(a lasting high pitched ring)
-Do I tune toms with a tuner?
-Can I have just top heads- no bottoms and keep good sound?
-What Cymbol combination is standard for rock/grunge?

any help anyone can give would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks- Todd

MVanDoren1

Re:restoring old drums...someone help me!
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2002, 07:51 AM »