Drum News
Drummer Cafe - Education, Entertainment, Excellence
  • Subscribe

Dream Theater drumheadTwenty of the top percussion companies in the industry have donated merchandise totalling more than $235,000 in retail value for the Five-Star Big Beat that will occur in 15 cities in North America on Sunday, November 7, 2010. Each participating store will be giving away more than $15,000 worth of drum gear to participants in this exciting charity event that will benefit the Mr. Holland’s Opus Foundation and in some cities, the addition of a local charity as well. Plus, one lucky winner in one of the 15 cities will get a special Dream Theater “Black Clouds & Silver Linings” replica tour bass drum head autographed especially for this occasion by drummer Mike Portnoy and the entire band!

The Big Beat will bring together the largest gathering of drummers ever assembled across North America to celebrate the joy of drumming and to raise money for worthwhile causes. Not only will each location try to break the individual city record for the most drummers playing the same beat at one time, but the participants will also try to shatter the record the Big Beat set last year for drummers playing the same beat in multiple cities at the same time! This marks the third year that the Five-Star Drum Shops group has organized this event, with the hope of expanding each year, until drummers across the globe are locked in on one worldwide groove.

Drummers of all skill levels and experience are encouraged to get involved and contact one of these participating Five-Star members for details:

Bellevue, WA: Donn Bennett Drum Studio - bennettdrums.com

Buffalo, NY: Buffalo Drum Outlet - buffalodrumoutlet.com

Champaign, IL: Skins-n-Tins Drum Shop - skinsntins.com

Columbus, OH: Columbus Percussion - columbuspercussion.com

Fort Collins, CO: Colorado Drum & Percussion - coloradodrum.com

Hollywood, FL: Resurrection Drums - rezdrums.com

Houston, TX: The Percussion Center - percussiononline.com

Plainview, NY: Original Long Island Drum Center - lidrum.com

Portland, OR: Rhythm Traders - rhythmtraders.com

San Jose, CA: Lemmon Percussion- drumsusa.com

St. Louis, MO: Drum Headquarters - drumheadquarters.com

St. Paul, MN: Ellis Drum Shop - ellisdrumshop.com

Toronto, ON: Just Drums - justdrums.com

Tulsa, OK: Drum World - drumdaytulsa.com

Willowick, OH: Stebal Drums - stebaldrums.com

 

Percussion vendors that so generously contributed are:

Dream

Drum Fun

Drum Workshop

Evans

Gretsch

Istanbul Agop

LP

Mapex

Pro-Mark

Regal Tip

Remo

Sabian

Sonor

Tama

Toca

Vater

Vic Firth

Wuhan

Yamaha

Zildjian

The Five-Star Drum Shops group is a non-profit organization of independently-owned specialty percussion stores in North America that are dedicated to advancing the art and science of drumming. For more information, visit www.fivestardrumshops.com or check out Five-Star on Facebook.